One of the Hudson Valley’s Most Respected Criminal Defense Law Firms, We Represent Defendants Accused of DWI and DUI

Our founding attorney has won major acquittals for clients throughout the Ulster, Dutchess, Sullivan, Rockland and Orange County NY area.

Having Experienced Counsel on Your Side is Imperative.

The repercussions of a DWI / DUI charge are extensive – loss of license, jail time, financial penalties, and more. Those repercussions are significantly enhanced for repeat offenses. It is important that you retain a lawyer as soon as you are detained to minimize the damages. The attorneys at Ostrer & Associates have over 30 years of experience defending those charged with DWI / DUI cases – both first time and repeat offenders. We offer 24 hour service and can appear on your behalf at the time of your arrest.

The Ostrer & Associates team has helped clients keep their driver’s licenses, reduce fines, and stay out of jail. We understand how complex DWI / DUI cases can be. One act can result in four different proceedings – the criminal case, the DMV case, a refusal hearing, and forfeiture proceeding. We analyze your case to determine the best strategy, be it interviewing key witnesses, working with toxicologists and accident reconstruction experts, or eliciting expert testimony.

DWI / DUI Offenses and Penalties

The penalties associated with a DWI / DUI charge depend upon a number of factors: whether it is your first offense, if you are underage, the substance impairing you, the type of driver’s license you hold, if there are any Leandra’s Law violations, and whether you refused a chemical test.

Click Here for the Penalties for First Time DWI / DUI Offenders

Penalties for Repeat DWI / DUI Offenders

DWI

Under Age Offenders

  • License revocation for 1 year or until you turn 21 years old
  • $125 civil penalty
  • $100 fee
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program with costs
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation with costs

Over 21 Offenders.

  • Imprisonment for up to 4 years
  • License revocation for at least 1 year
  • Class E felony status
  • Civil penalty ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program with costs
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation with costs

Commercial Drivers. There is a lower blood alcohol content threshold for commercial drivers.  You will be charged with DWI if your blood alcohol content level is .04% or greater.  Commercial drivers convicted of DWI have much more severe penalties than those that regular passenger drivers experience.

DWAI / Alcohol 21 and Over

  • Imprisonment for up to 30 days
  • License revocation for at least 6 months
  • Civil penalty ranging from $500 to $750
  • Minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program with costs
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation with costs

DWAI / Drugs 21 and Over

  • Imprisonment for up to 4 years
  • License revocation for at least 1 year
  • Class E felony status
  • Civil penalty ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program with costs
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation with costs

DWAI / Combination of Alcohol and Drugs 21 and Over

  • Imprisonment for up to 4 years
  • License revocation for at least 1 year
  • Class E felony status
  • Civil penalty ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program with costs
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation with costs

Aggravated DWI 21 and Over

  • Imprisonment for up to 4 years
  • License revocation for at least 18 months
  • Civil penalty ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years
    • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program with costs
    • Possible ignition interlock device installation with costs

Penalties for Refusing to Take a Chemical Test

If you are a repeat offender less than 21 years of age and you violate the zero tolerance law by refusing a chemical test, you face a $750 civil penalty, $100 fee to reapply for your license, and license revocation for at least one year. Repeat offenders over 21 years of age who refuse a chemical test lose their license for 18 months and must pay a $750 civil penalty. Repeat commercial driver offenders who refuse a chemical test will lose their license for 18 months as well as permanently lose their CDL license and must pay a $750 civil penalty.

DWI / DUI Charges and Forfeiture

If you have been arrested for DWI / DUI the police can immediately impound your car and bring civil forfeiture proceedings against you – even if you don’t own the car you were arrested in. You can actually have your DWI / DUI case dismissed and lose your car. We can assist you with these proceedings.

If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI offense, contact the experienced, skilled criminal defense attorneys of Ostrer & Associates, P.C. who will aggressively defend you.


P.O. Box 509
111 Main Street, Chester, NY 10918
877-469-7577
info@ostrer.com